Kale Lime Caesar Salad

So one of my favorite restaurants is Sweet Green. My office used to be just three blocks down from one and my co-workers and I would go every single Friday.  But just like all good things, my proximity to the Sweet Green came to an end.  We moved offices and our new location is far from my favorite spot.

Since the office move, I felt a void in my meals. I was craving, not only Sweet Green, but my usual meal: The Kale Caesar Salad. They make their salad so differently from every other restaurant, it’s hard to explain, but it’s addicting. Anyway, I decided since I can’t go get my Kale Caesar, I will bring the Kale Caesar to me.  I went online (aka my lifeline, Pinterest) to look for a mock recipe and I found one on Gimme Some Oven. They even compared their salad to Sweet Green! I used their recipe as inspiration and put my own little twist to it!

IMG_3044

Here is what I used for the Kale Lime Caesar salad:

  • Romaine and Kale (chopped, about 4 cups)
  • Parmesan cheese (about 1/4 of a cup)
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Grilled Chicken
  • Parmesan crisps
  • Homemade Lime Caesar dressing (recipe below)

IMG_3052

For the dressing, I used:

  • 1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup parmesean cheese
  • 8 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbps EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
  • 4 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 8 tbsp milk
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_3048 IMG_3050

Assembly is easy! While you bake the chicken (at 350 degrees for 45 mins to an hour), prep the salad. Combine all ingredients to make the dressing and refrigerate until you’re ready to eat.

Chop the Romaine and kale and put into a bowl. I make sure the mixture is 80% kale and 20% Romaine. Once chopped, add the dry ingredients, followed by the dressing, toss and serve! Also note: I made this recipe for a big family, so if you are cooking for a smaller group, cut the serving suggestions in half.

IMG_3055

The lime juice makes such a difference in this meal and makes it delish! If you are not a fan of lime, you can always use the traditional lemon juice and the result will be just as yummy. Try the recipe for yourself and let me know what you think!

Keep consistent and persistent,

Katie

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest: @Katie_Bahrs

*Feature Image photo credit: Food Network Online*

One Comment Add yours

  1. jemsblogsite says:

    would love to try this! trying to find new recipes to eat veggies haha!

    Like

Leave a comment